I Forge Iron

Newbie from Ohio

Howdy, 

I'm new to anything & everything involving metal working.

I picked up a couple railroad Anvils a couple years ago and decided I wanted to incorporate some hand worked metal accents into the furniture I make in my woodshop.

So everything I'll be doing will be on a small scale.

I'd held off for a long time as the cost of any type of forge gave me pause as to whether I wanted to invest $$$ to get into this even slightly.

Don't laugh too hard but I saw the YouTube videos on DIY Can Forges it got me interested due to the cost.

I made one and have already begun looking at larger Forges with multiple burners. This winter may be the time to get something actually usable.

bio stuff, US Marine, VFW8054, Love Harley's, Sig Sauer Pistols & building ARs, Love Motorhoming, Woodworking & carving

I'm also on the SigForum under the same screen name & avatar.

that's about it.

IMG_3923.JPG

IMG_3926.JPG

IMG_3928.JPG

IMG_4122.JPG

IMG_4125.JPG

IMG_4139.JPG

Thank you for serving! 

We seem to be on the same schedule I just replied to your anvil stand post. 

What are you using for a burner in your forge? Making baffles to close off most of the openings will really bring the heat up. 

You'd be amazed how many blacksmiths are cabinet makers, carvers, etc. who decided it'd be easier to forge and grind that special: gouge, carving knife, planer blade, etc. or the envisioned hardware than earn enough to buy it. Of course the heat and steel addicts them and we help. :)

And we LOVE pics, anything you'd show the grandkids and not have to explain the icky stuff. 

Frosty The Lucky.

I'm just looking to stay with Propane for fuel as I can shut it off & leave the shop.

I have a 10' line so I can connect to my 20lbs LP tanks but it's just hooked to a TS8000 torch head.

I'm still working full time , 21 yrs as a prison guard so a lot of what I do has to be done in 2-4hr stages.

I like my hobbies to keep my sanity.