I Forge Iron

Noob out of Northern Colorado

Hello all,

My name is Jason and I recently relocated my family to Northern Colorado from Idaho for work. I'm an executive project manager for a general contractor that self performs miscellaneous metals (though I've found it less risky and more cost effective to sub) and steel erection. My education background is mechanical engineering specialized in machine elements, but upon graduating, I jumped into construction engineering & design, then estimating and management because I didn't enjoy the engineering nearly as much.

My wife is an AFA Certified Farrier from Boise, ID. She's quite a hand and loves blacksmithing. I helped her get her get farrier business running well (business-wise) working with her for a year. I admit, I'm not even novice level, but thoroughly enjoyed working in the forge. She did some blacksmithing on the side for friends. Nothing nearly as nice as I've seen here! Just functional hooks and a set of saddle bag brackets for a Harley, etc. When we had our son, she stopped being a farrier, sold her gas forge to another farrier, but kept all of her other tools. Now that our boy is going into kindergarten, she wants to get into blacksmithing exclusively.

To stay away from life stories, I'm going to leave it at this. I'd like to add, I perused this site over the last few days and I'm very impressed with the things I've seen. It's obvious this forum is full of professionals. I have many questions, but will search quite a bit more before asking.

-Jason

welcome to the forge:D well iforge anyhow there certainly is I wealth of talent/knowledge on this site! please be aware some are touchy" and not in the "feely"way they don't like those that couldn't be bothered to research  and ask for advise and then tell those that take the effort to reply that they knew better all along or some such BS.