I Forge Iron

Frosty Burner - help tuning the burner

MatthewMachinist

Hi, I have finished building a frosty burner, I have spent a bit of time the last couple of weekends trying to tune it, I machined a stainless steel flare with the correct 1 in 12 taper as well. Basically I am having a lot of trouble lighting it, now this is my first burner build but I thought that by making a flare it should make it easier to light. I have probably missed something obvious with this project.

I started with an untouched mig tig and gradually shortened it as per instructions, I have ended up with a very short mig tip and no success.

So I installed a new mig tip and tried lighting it, I have found that I can light it and "tune it" to a neutral flame when I cover the air intake 75% with my hands.

I am new here so I will tell you I am a Machinist so yes I am a greenhorn when it comes to hot work, except heat treating which I have done a fair amount of.

I have followed the plans closely making sure to use the 0.035" mig tip, the flare means that the burner tube is longer than the 6", I have tried using it with and without the flare and I have tried adjusting the gas pressure to no avail, it lights easier with very low back pressure but then it starts to burn near the mig tip, if I increase the pressure slowly it blows itself out instantly. One difference between mine and the plans is my pipe is slightly longer than 6" and there is the flare as well.

I thought I may have over engineering my nozzle by making it too smooth so I inserted some gauze to try to slow down the gas, still doesn't make a difference.

Lastly I am trying to light it outside of the forge, which should be possible because I am using the flare (as far as I know)

Any help or ideas would be appreciated, here are some photos (the Vernier's are set to 6")

http://s1056.photobucket.com/user/matthewdd3/media/IMG_0579_1.jpg.html?sort=3&o=4