I Forge Iron

Single phase motor wiring help

Hi guys, 

I hope someone can help me out. I'm building a belt grinder and have acquired a 230v 2hp 2800rpm single phase motor. Although it runs fine I would like it to run in the opposite direction and add an on/off switch. I took the cover plate off to see what was what and although i'm no expert the way it's wired looks odd. I don't know why it just seems unlike what i have seen before. I thought the cap leads should go to W1 & V1 not U1. Can someone cast an eye over it and just confirm it looks ok and maybe let me know what to swap to change direction. I think I just need to swap the jumpers from W2-U1 to W2- U2 and U2-V1 to U1-V1. But as I say i'm no expert! Much appreciated, I attach some photos of all I know!

motor wiring.jpg

IMG_0056.jpg

IMG_0057.jpg

You did not say what kind of a starter circuit this motor employ's, but I am going to assume it is capacitor start. What you need to do is reverse the wires that go to the auxiliary circuit.  The Aux. circuit is the starter winding circuit, once the motor is kick started the primary winding's do not care which way the motor rotates.  I have copied a drawing which I hope transfers when I post this.  The problem you have is finding the Aux circuit wiring.  This drawing for a capacitor start motor says that V1 & V2 are the terminals you need to reverse.  Don't change the metal links from vertical to horizontal you will short out the primary line and get to see a nice bright light for a short time.

Cap Start.jpg

I didn't mention that it's a capacitor start as I thought that was obvious from the photo with the capacitor leads marked. I have no idea if there is an aux circuit as there are only four wires coming from the motor and nothing else. I guess I'll just leave it as it is and put the motor on the other side of the machine.