I Forge Iron

Anvils

Apprentice,
I would agree that you asked a couple of worthy questions. The problem as I see it is that sometimes what may sound like a simple question on the surface is not so simple to answer at times. That is for me anyway.
Your questions deserve the best answers you can get. So here goes is my version to the answers to your questions:
The way I see it, there are so many unseen variables that are attached to your questions that only you can answer at this time.
Here are a few questions, but not limited to the following questions that may be helpful to ask you

cheers to that ted!

aprentice, you should first think about what kind of shape would be usefull to you,
and as a designer, I have to say this; but astatics is wourth something to, an anvill that looks nice to you, will give you more fun and pride working on, but thats only my opinion and I maybe right or wrong ("but you can find them both in the grand cannion at sun down" sorry guys I could not withstand to quote Bob dylan :-) )
greetz

This is a very sensible question. The answer is on the site but let me share a few thoughts with you.

An anvil is a piece of material (steel) on which you beat hot metal. The earliest anvils would have been a rock!

It is not:
A perfectly flat, level, true etc. edge as a reference although if it is these are all bonuses.
Something on which to beat cold metal (or you will mark the anvil).
A bench on which to weld, grind etc. etc.

It should ideally be:
Made of good quality steel or lower quality metal with a steel face.
As heavy as you need for the work you are doing. A person resizing gold wedding rings uses a smaller anvil than somebody making anchors.
ANchored to something (see articles on anvil bases) such as a stand or a tree stump to stop it dancing around when you strike on it.

It does not need to be a professionally made anvil although that is usually best. It can be:
A piece of railway line,