I Forge Iron

When do you need more weight?

I'm still very new to this, but I am now hooked enough that I am starting to consider a legitimate anvil. I'm currently using a piece of railroad track that someone previously ground to the shape of an anvil. It only weighs about 20 lbs, and I have since learned that the piece of track would have likely been better left alone and set on end. It was a whopping $30 though and fit the bill for when I was investing the bare minimum just to figure out if this was something I would enjoy doing or not. I haven't noticed that the small size or improper configuration has held me back considerably, but I have nothing to compare to. I don't know if my projects are just so small it doesn't matter, or if life would be easier with something bigger and I just don't know it. I've tried reading all the various posts about the weight's impact on the efficiency of blows, but I sort of get the feeling it's one of those things you understand once you've used something sizable and compared. My current desire for a next level anvil isn't directly tied to more size. I'm currently very jealous of various hardy tools I've seen in the tools section, so I'd like an anvil with a hardy hole which mine does not. Also, I started out in the pursuit of bladesmithing knives, but in monkeying around with making little tomahawks I've also become intrigued with the notion of small axe making. When making the little hawks I keep wanting to be able to use the horn in ways that I've seen folks do on youtube videos to shape the blade. The horn on my current anvil was ground in to make it look like an anvil, but it isn't really usable. I'd like an anvil with some actual beef in the horn section.