I Forge Iron

Hello smiths

Hello all,  I'm James.  I'm new here and to the art of manipulating steel with heat and muscle .  I've spent the last 2 -  2 1/2 years reading, watching, and listening to anything and everything about throwing the hammer.  I finally alloted sone time and money to developing a new addiction.  I'm starting from scratch and, I'd like to say cheap.  But, not so cheap when I have to buy even the simplest tool to build my forge and cut iron, grind, file, measure, throw away failed projects, and sit down exhausted and weep. But, as of one hour ago I have my forge fire clayed and air supply pipe in place.  I feel like I have a working elementary understanding of the basics due to this forum.  I've been lurking and reading all of the shared knowledge posted here. I thank you all for sharing.  I look forward to learning from your mistakes and your victories.  I am a heat treater by trade and have access to tones of heating equipment..... As long as the boss doesn't find out. .  Shhhhh.  

If you read this and want to warn me to stop before I start...... I'm pretty hard headed and overly excited to try my hand at this. My goal is pattern welding... Not Damascus but, Anglo saxon / Scandinavian pattern welding.  Uthbert will be my goal. 

I'm excited to be here. Below is a couple pics of my new / First forge. Be gentle, I know I'll be ordering a new, better one soon. Just had to be moving forward.  

20160408_160145.jpg

20160408_160135.jpg

Welcome aboard James, glad to have you. In the tons of reading you've done was any of it in the solid fuel forges section here? There are some fundamental errors in what you've built. As said your air supply and air grate may be dangerous though an aluminum vent pipe for the vertical will probably work at least for a while. Keep a large bucket or METAL pan of water under it in case it fails so the fire doesn't get away from you.