I Forge Iron

Is this a striking anvil?

I found this on a auction website and seen this picture and thought it was a striking anvil since its a auction that the company has once a year were a bunch of smiths bring there things such as anvils forges etc. to sell the auction is tomorrow as of 1/21/16 cant find another picture of it with out the bottle jack on it and if you look closely at the flatters on it you will notice there is a pritchel hole                          

fi7.cgifi5.cgi

All you really need for a striking anvil is a piece of steel that you aren't afraid to beat up. The reason you have a striking anvil is so you don't damage your anvil, and striking anvils are a bit lower too. Whatever that is, striking anvil or not, it seems like it would work. There's that nice wide spot in the center which will probobly come in handy. I can't  see fto me the photos and I am no expert, but the only issue might be that it's too thin. Don't quote me on any of this, becuase I am looking for a striking anvil or going to make one myself so I don't have any experience with them. But if it's a good price, then I would say get it.

That's a pretty big chunk of metal, but it's impossible to say if it's suitable as a striking anvil.  It might be cast iron, like a tractor weight, and thus not good for a striking anvil.  There might be a giant hole under the screw jack, hence the differing width.  Just too hard to say.

Though, if it is quality steel, mild or otherwise, it would certainly work as a striking anvil.  Just depends on whether it's cast iron or not.