I Forge Iron

Looking for my first fly press

kunkle

I am looking to purchase my first fly press.   I am still new to smithing but have wrist issues.   I've been looking at eBay and was thinking of going up to gold machinery in Rhode Island.

Im not in a hurry though

So I would like your opinions:

1) I was thinking a c frame was more versatile but would like to know what most people use.

2) how large to purchase.   I usually work with 1 1/2 thick and less metal

3) in the Mid-Atlantic  where should I look for a press

4) what should I look for in a press 

I appreciate any input 

With any tool I have always bought the largest example I couldn't quite afford. :)

It depends what use you have for it. If you are punching and forming silver or making instrument parts in top and bottom tools which require alignment you will require a new one with fine tolerances.

If you are using one to belt hell out of a lump of hot metal to bend or straighten punch or forge it, then size rather than precision is the most important criteria.

Just to make you think a bit wider…I have, and loved, a number 8 "C" frame fly press for which I paid £500 including its stand and some tooling in 1985. The fly press did sterling service….until I purchased a "C" frame Hi-Ton 12 tonne single acting fast cycle hydraulic press for £400 in 1997. The fly press has been sitting in the corner of the shop ever since gathering dust.

If you have wrist issues, consider a powered press which you operate with your foot! 

Alan

Biggest is not the best in fly press.  Might be too big to operate especially with wrist problems. 

Don't quite follow your reasoning. 

The bigger the press, the less load on the wrist for a given oomph of the tools...

I took the weights off mine and just used the leverage multiplier of the screw thread when I required a series of fast light blows as in bowl forming sheet. 

How do you envisage one being too big?

Alan