I Forge Iron

Cable With a Temper Line?

jmccustomknives

Let me start by saying I've been working with cable for many years.  My supplier only carries extra IPS cable.  A couple of weeks ago a gentleman brought me some new left overs (7/8").  I made a test skinner and it did real well so I forged up a 2pc Bowie.  I did an edge quench with a 400F temper as this seems to do best on the cable.  As I was cleaning it up I notices something, a temper line.  I've tried to get these before with cable and never have, even doing a clay back.  The problem, the extra IPS would invert but would never show a line.  This stuff did.  When I etched it the thing really popped like none I've had.  Usually the watering isn't bold.  The first pic is the knife with the new cable, the last pic is one from the extra IPS as it is typical patterning I get.

The guy was told by his customer that this cable was the strongest they could get.  I've not gotten any extra extra IPS, think this could be some?

008_5.jpg004_5.jpg

005_2.jpg

• 2 weeks later...

Since nobody knew, or cared how or why I was getting a temper line I think I figured it out.  It was procedural.  I have a pan of "Goddard's goo" that I had recently added a little Parks 50 to the mix.  This makes it flame up awful, so when the edge is cool I'd immediately submerge.  I believe the back was still at temperature when the submersion happened giving a line.  Now that I know I can play with it further.

How does tempering effect or create that ?

I know I am a term nazi , but if we misuse, or make up our own terms,  it makes information confusing to share, harder to answer questions, like in another thread currently confusing most everyone because of misused terms by many.