I Forge Iron

fuel problems

Puck

First and foremost, I'm a noob (major noob). I've only fired my forge maybe a dozen times. So I'm still trying different fuel options. In my area (northern Rhode island) I'm limited to one coal supplier. They specialize in anthracite coal but from time to time they get bituminous coal. Yesterday I went to buy a few more bags of coal in varying sizes (1 40lb bag of peat size and 1 40lb bag of nut sized coal). When I got there I was surprised to find they had gotten a small supply of blacksmith coal so I grabbed a bag of that as well (can't have to much right?). I have since found out that this stuff is awesome (the metal even feels like it responds better). here is my problem..  My chances of going back and finding more blacksmith coal for purchase are slim (they sell out FAST). Can I mix anthracite coal and blacksmith coal together to extend my supply? I don't really like the anthracite coal. I feel like it gets to hot. I'm always melting what I'm practicing on. But I didn't have that problem with the blacksmith coal. I'm currently using a hair dryer as my bellows because the anthracite coal is a pain to keep hot with my hand crank blower (it's not the best). Any advice would be most appreciated. Thank you

Oh yeah.. Hello! :) I'm new if you haven't noticed. 

You need to find a local blacksmithing group and ask where they get their coal. You will learn more by attending a couple of meetings that you can imagine.

Rhode Island: The Southern Bunch  at the South County Museum, Narragansett, RI.  On the 4th Saturday of each month (10:00 - 3:00)  For more information: www.southcountymuseum.org

I have tried. They told me that when they order a truck load, then end up sitting on it for a year or more (which makes no sense seeing how I watched them sell out in 4 days). They also charge me twice as much for blacksmith coal ($15 for a 40lb bag). is this a decent price? Its only $7 for a bag of the anthracite.