I Forge Iron

choosing a regulator

Cary Brief

Hello all, my first post here.  New to blacksmithing although not to metal working - I am a machinist, lost wax and sand caster and a jeweler to name a few.   I am building my first gas forge - the burner is not a problem, similar to ones I use on casting furnaces, going to try out two designs, one I got from Dave Hammer" youtube video and Ron Reil's burner.   My question is how to know what PSI Regulator you need?  I plan to use a needle valve to control my gas flow -    All my casting furnaces have blowers and these don't - that is where I am confused - also On Zoeller's website the single burner setup has a 3-30 PSI reg,    Dave Hammer suggests a 1-60  and lots of what I read here also suggests a MR Heater 1-60.     Just wondering what you experienced folk say about this subject before I go buying anything.   Like I have read here, when I discuss this with the "propane pros" they get all quiet and don't want to say anything.  Anyway thanks for the great group - lots of interesting information here.  Hope I have something nice to show you soon.  

I run a 0-30. I've never seen a properly made and tuned naturally aspirated burner that needed even 30psig. let alone 60. More isn't better, right is. Forget the needle valve, would you run a string to the throttle to control the  fuel injected engine in your car? A needle valve is just a poor way of doing exactly what the regulator does and it's after the regulator. Really pointless bit of extra stuff to go wrong.

Dave has a pretty well thought out method for building an ejector type NA burner. Ron's are perfectly workable linear type NA burners. Properly built and tuned either will bring a forge to welding heat. Bearing in mind a linear type burner is good for up to 300 cu/in volume if you do a good job of putting it together. An ejector type will do same for on average 350+ cu/in. volume and are less susceptible to breezes and back pressure issues.

Frosty The Lucky.