I Forge Iron

Help with creating a RR Anvil

post-61760-0-49761000-1424283403_thumb.j

I am new to blacksmithing and have been trying to put in the proper research to get started.  I know that buying an expensive anvil and forge would be a waste until I learn how to properly control what I am doing.  I found a guy that will sell me a piece of RR track that is a bit over 2' in length.  The track has the box edge as opposed to the large round edge, so I was wondering about standing the track on end and having a shop weld a 2" plate of steel on the end.  Is this a good idea or quick fix for the problem?  I would then strap the anvil to RR Ties or a large stump to brace it out and then drill something into the stump for a hardy hole.  I know this is a bit amateurish, but we all have to start somewhere.

I am in North Texas (Burleson) if anyone has any direct experience with this sort of thing (or happens to be a great welder!).

Standing the track on end is the best way to go.  Do not weld a plate on the end to work on.  Put the plate on the base and bolt that to your ties or stump.  Use the end of the rail as the anvil.  If you need a hardy hole, find some square tubing, or make it out of angle or flat stock, and weld it to the flat part of the rail. 

The only place the rail anvil is doing anything is directly under the hammer.  You will have enough area to work on.

Thank you for the reply.  I am worried I will have a very small area to strike but I also see what you are saying.  Having a plate on the end doesn't help for any area where it is hanging over blank space.  Great idea on the square tubing as well.  I have no idea why I figured it should be more difficult to have a hardy.