I Forge Iron

Newbie from PA

MarcyOHH

Hi my name is Marcy from the Philadelphia area. I'm relatively new to forging but from what I have done so far it's awesome. I was wondering if there are any other women on here, particularly near me. So far I've been working on points and weird scrolls and curves. The picture is from my third time forging. I would love some tips on how to best copy a design so I can duplicate it again.

post-60264-0-33870000-1421207227_thumb.j

A few questions:  Do you have your own dedicated forge setup?  Have you had any formal instruction from an experienced smith?   Hammer as much as you can, and realize that your scrap pile of "failures" will often exceed you pile of "successes".  

Making one of anything is sometimes easy, sometimes hard.  Making two or more matching is tough till you get experience, and even then it might not be easy.  Jigs and patterns go a long way for making multiples.

Welcome aboard Marcy glad to have you. I  know and know of a number of ladysmiths, just not in your neighborhood. Word'll go out here on IFI and you'll get acquainted soon, no worries. Get hooked up with an experienced smith, every hour working with an experienced smith is worth days teaching yourself.

Practice the basics, everything is composed of the basics, worry about duplications later. I'm not saying don't TRY to make multiples, just don't expect close results for a while. It takes muscle memory and experience to become consistent enough to reliably duplicate your work.

Patterns, jigs and careful notes all help. We've all drawn the outline on the bench, floor or whatever's handy to line up a piece to make sure it's right. It's an old trick, sharp stick and dirt old but a goody. Scrolls can be copied by following the original with soft wire and matching the duplicates.