I Forge Iron

What is that? clip

Glenn

I would think a wire puller but it wouldn't work for pulling through conduit. I'd allow cable maybe. the stock can be passed through the open side then the roller inside will pinch as you pull on the ring. Kinda the same idea as a fence stretcher.

The "precision" insciption gets me. Why would a wire-pulling or banding-grabbing have to be precise. I agree though it looks like it grabs something or other. It's very much the same principle as my carpenter's saw rack in the shed which holds ten saws.

OK guys, picture this....

You are a busy mother, trying to get supper cooked before hubby gets home. You are holding a crying baby with a runny nose. You can tie this handy little clip on your apron and hang a wiping rag on it to keep your hands free for frying the chicken.

Do I win some kind of prize? :lol:

Hey! I have been smithing more or less for 12 years and still have MY finger prints.
In fact I learned early on how to check for hot metal. Easy way is have the junior person present to go and pick it up. If he yells and drops it, you kow to use tongs or wait a while. :o

Ok, close enough

The item depicted is a "Chain Grip". It's a Surveying relic from the days before the modern electronic/laser gismos. Sadly, days which I remember but remember fondly. Surely the tool could not hold/grip a chain you ask."Chain" refers to an even earlier measuring device called a Chain or Gunters Chain (See attached) made up of 100 links ( 1 link = 7.92 inches). They were generally 1 chain, or 22 yards, or 8 furlongs etc long.

The more modern "Chain" was actually a steel band about 3/16 x 1/16 and sometimes 300m long. The name was retained, possibly colloquially, as a link to the past. Being high tensile steel it was hard to hold once the required tension was applied. It would cut into the back of your little finger. You couldn't bend it around your hand either as it would kink and stuff up the accuracy of the thing.