I Forge Iron

putting a patina on a copper piece

Farmall

The daughter of a friend is working on a copper sculpture (her first) and wants to add a patina to it. She has tried heating it, but didn't like the results.  I have no experience in working with copper, so I thought I'd reach out to you and ask for any suggestions.  Thanks in advance.

look up the sculpt-nouveau products, I had the opportunity to talk to a few guys who use their patinas over the weekend and they had nothing but good things to say about them.

are there specific colors or patterns that she is trying to achieve?  heat patinas on copper can be quite striking but do require some experimentation to control.  I think it was a member here who suggested preheating the piece in the oven to bring the whole thing up in temp but not to the point that it starts to oxidize on its own, then your torch will only need to bring it up a little farther to start seeing colors, rather than needing to wait a long time and then overheat one area and have the color run too far.

flip through the copper section, non-ferrous heat treating ('?do=embed' frameborder='0' data-embedContent>>), and I think the chemical versions have been discussed pretty well in alchemy too. 

Amazoon has a copies of, "The Colouring, Bronzing and Patination of Metals" by Richardson and Howe running in the mid $40s - the mid $50s

A lot depends on what color you want. You can get a nice age green like the Statue of Liberty by tenting the piece and letting it soak in ammonia vapor.