I Forge Iron

A hammer question from South Australia

Andre Of Astora

Hi guys, been absent from the forums for awhile, but now I need your advice!

I live in a rather rural part of South Australia, and I've semi-recently come into looking after a historic blacksmith shop. LOVING IT as I've always had a love of smithing, only...Now that I'm (slightly) more experienced, I'm noticing that the hammers there just aren't up to par..I have a light claw hammer like thing that is good for light work but is terrible at squishing a piece of metal, and a really heavy cross peen hammer, that is great for squishing metal, but not so great for my arm.

Now, onto my problem...There is a SEVERE lack of blacksmithing tools in australia, I've scoured the internet and I've seen that almost all the tools come from america, which would be fine, only postage is about 50 dollars, on top of a 30-50 dollar hammer, since I'm only starting out and I make literally no money from the work I do, I don't see a point in spending this much. So, any aussies that can point me in the right direction, or anyone for that matter?

Why buy hammers? Are there any trucks in the Truck Breakers? Every big truck has at least 2 - 2" diameter axles. If you aren't near the breakers, who does heavy truck repair? It is amazing what a box of beer will buy!!!

If you are hard pressed to buy hammers, then make them. Make all your tools!!!! No snivelling allowed, put your big boy pants on and get to work!!

Neil

Small steps.  If you're just starting in smithing, don't get caught up in "smithing" equipment, because there isn't such a thing.

Your local hardware store sells a selection of ball-peen hammers that will be more than suitable for 80% of the forging you want to do.  They probably have cross-peen or straight-peen hammers, too.  And because they're mass-produced and shipped down under by the ton, they'll be as cheap as anything else you can guy on the island.