I Forge Iron

Gas Forge ideas

nick1018

Hey guys, name's Nick. I am quite new to gas forging, my only previous experience being with a really bad soup can forge. i was going to use coal but an very on the fence, due to the fact that i live in the city and and my coal supplier is very far out of town, because of this, i want an equally effective gas forge where i can hopefully even attempt forge welding. i have been looking around and decided on the reil burner design using a .75 inch burner tube. i have found a company that sells kaowool in the 2 inch thick range. because i have never built a gas forge, i am unsure about what dimensions i should use. i wish to get it up to welding heat and so i assume that the smaller the inside diameter, the more heat that burner will put out. i also am unsure wether i should put the burner on the top or side. I've been kicking around the idea of ether using a coffee can or a 20 lb. propane can. i don't want something super huge but need it big enough to work in and hopefully weld, nothing big but say large enough to make a pattern welded blade in the future. i know it is a lot to ask but i am just starting out and need someone to point me in the right direction. thanks 

OK this reads to me as "I've never drive a stick shift vehicle and would like you to help me choose one that is easy to learn on and economical to run"  got that picture in your mind?  "Once I've learned how to drive stick I want to use it to carry 16 tons of gravel."    How did this changer your mind picture?   Mine ran into a bridge abutment...