I Forge Iron

Burning Powdered Charcoal

I'm relatively new to melting metal, though I have built 3 foundries up till now so I have the basics and safety down pretty well. Just a few weeks ago I got my hands on some Hard Firebrick (rated for up to 2700°F / 1482°C) and built my third foundry (all of mine burn charcoal though I have been taking a look into propane). The foundry burns fairly hot and I can melt copper easily in it. I noticed though that after some burns (and after the foundry cools down) that there are some small charcoal fragments left at the bottom of the foundry, so I took those small fragments and crushed them into a fine powder.

Now my question: is there any way to burn that charcoal powder?

I've attached a few pictures of my foundry setup and the powdered charcoal so you have an idea of what I'm dealing with. What I've been considering is drilling a small hole in the copper pipe that delivers air into the foundry, and then dropping some powdered charcoal into it (via a funnel). The current of air would carry the powdered charcoal into the forge where it would then ignite, somewhat like a Pulverized Charcoal Burner.

Would that pose any risks, or are there any better suggestions?

EDIT: And yes, the foundry is sitting on cement, not concrete so it won't spall.

post-42833-0-35551900-1371919147_thumb.jpost-42833-0-71905200-1371919152_thumb.jpost-42833-0-36274100-1371919161_thumb.jpost-42833-0-04879300-1371919167_thumb.jpost-42833-0-62584300-1371919170_thumb.j

I have a few empty candle jars (they're like cylinders) that I'll probably use as molds, though egg boxes will definitely let me make more at a time. I'll try both and see how each turn out. I'll post pictures once done. Thanks again =)

Has anyone tried using coal dust mixed with the four/water mixture as above?