I Forge Iron

What do you guys think of this anvil.

post-39301-0-57115900-1364826846_thumb.j

I am exchanging emails with a guy about this anvil.  I am a beginner and it is larger than I was thinking of starting with, but I am considering it.  He says it is a 325 lb Vaughan Brooks.  I have a couple of concerns.

1.  I have asked for more pics but haven't gotten any yet, I will probably make the 2 hour trip to look at it and give it the rebound tests I've read about.

2.  The face swayback and the droop in the heel.  It seems like the face is in good shape and the corners are intact, but this makes me suspect that it has been ground by hand.  I am thinking that kind of wear should be accompanied by more face and edge wear.  Also the drop from the face to the table seems short, which makes me suspicious of grinding again.

3.  He's asking $900.  On the BS forums this seems high, but not totally out of line.

4.  I am also tentative about its size, I thought I would be starting with something smaller.

Thanks!

That is a big anvil!  I am concerned about the lack of step, but brooks may not have had a big one.  But if it has been surfaced, then all the "hardness" of the face may have been removed.

900$ is more than I would pay, but I also don't have that kind of money hanging around.

Looks like a monster. Price is always dependant on location, so take that into account.

The only real "smart" way to play this is to ask if he's firm on his price, as you would like to inspect it's condition "in person" and make a decision on what you're willing to pay from there.

Always tell them "Sure, it's a great price for a great anvil..." but have them relate to you along the basis that you're looking at pictures, and those pictures draw up some very real concerns... If those concerns turn out to be valid flaws in the product, then you have to adjust your budget... If that's not the case, then that's a great price, for a great anvil".....