I Forge Iron

Dagger construction?

S.Hollowood

So i have been making knives for a couple of months now, and have made various designs from Kerambits, bowies, sheepsfoots, and all sorts of different things. I have mostly been working in the 1/8" x 1" as well as 3/16" x 1.5, and the occasional 1/4" piece. I am planning on starting a dagger soon, 

My basic concept for the dagger is based on the classic arming sword design. With a few design changes, with a maximum length of around 14" , a blade at the hilt slightly wider than an inch or so, in between 1.25" and 1.5" With either a very slight taper to the tip, or none until about an 1" from the tip. For the cross section i would like flat grind on both sides and a central spine on each side of the blade or in other words <> . Now my question for you guys is this, i am completely unsure of what thickness to start with to reach that profile. I feel like 3/16 and 1/4 or to thin, how ever i don't have a big background in blades, much less historical blades. So my question is this what is your recommended thickness to start with? 

Both wonderful pieces of advice Thank you. I guess that is why my conception is so skewed, having seen almost nothing but reproductions my mental image would be way to thick and heavy. I guess i need to find some real examples of historical blades, Can any one recommend a decent title that would be helpful to a bladesmtih in that it list pertinent specifications?

*scampers off to the interwebs to find an arms museum locally* *hope in his eyes* I am headed to the guild meeting tonight, and i know there is at least one bladesmith among them who has done larger pieces, hopefully he will have time to talk with me. I wish i could find someone in the area willing to have an apprentice or at the very least a shadow for a day or 2.