I Forge Iron

Working with antimony question (total noob)

Greetings everyone.

I've just recently been taken in by the idea of backyard blacksmithing. My girlfriend got me a mapp/pro oxygen torch for Christmas as I thought I'd get my hands dirty with a little bit of simple Cuttlefish bone jewelry casting before really committing and building a DIY forge and getting an anvil and all that sweetness. 

I thought antimony might be a good metal to start with because of its relatively low melting point and the fact that it has a good amount of luster.

However I've quickly noticed not very many people work with it as I've had a hard time finding examples of antimony jewelry. 

All I really want to know is if its safe to melt antimony with a Bernzomatic MAPP/PRO oxygen blow torch. Its advertised to reach temperatures of over 3000 degrees F, which is theoretically hot enough to BOIL antimony, and I'm no expert but I get the feeling boiling metal in my garage is a quick way to permanently disfigure myself or at the very least end up in the emergency room. 

I've already purchased a pound of antimony so I'd really like to use it. I was hoping to cast some simple rings and other small trinkets. 

If anyone has any tips or safety advice I'd really appreciate it. 

Thanks

well, you better google it, I think you are starting out in the wrong direction. Make a fire brick "cave" , drill a hole in one brick to push the torch through, and heat 1/4 " rod , make hooks, nails, mason jar candle holders, small stuff. See where that takes you