I Forge Iron

Hi guys,

here is a little guide on how to forge a rams head wall hook. I am not a professional instructor and this is just the way I do it currently.
I made a video and extracted the most important frames (full video on the bottom of the page):

1. Take a sqare bar (here 12mm) mild steel and draw down about 2 1/2 inches to half parent bar thickness

8231745861_030bec2c26_b.jpg

2. Split the set off section with a hot chissel along the middle

8232807828_718453e36a_b.jpg

3. Fuller inbetween the horns and clean up with a file

8232807324_d47946d2ce_b.jpg

8231744293_fa56be03c7_b.jpg

4. Taper both horns (fold one horn back so you can work on the other)

8232806256_6ca4a0fd54_b.jpg

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

13. Forge the eyes using an eyeballpunch (To make the eyeballpunch forge a flat sqare punch, punch a dent into the face of the punch and then break two corners of the square)

8232802050_530d9198f0_b.jpg

14. fold over the head using a wooden log, a wooden or raw hide mallet to protect the face

8231738971_13cf99eff6_b.jpg

15. Curl the horns

8231738469_61145b5d5e_b.jpg

16. Make an indentation with a round punch or a ball pien

8232800396_e33b66ae78_b.jpg

17. Cut of the hook from the parent bar

8231737351_72b48d9edc_b.jpg

18. Punch or drill a hole inside of the indentaion for the screw

8231736803_39209767f5_b.jpg

19. Taper the hook and round it of

8231736317_463c282ea6_b.jpg

20. Create a curly cue having the face facing upwards

8231735805_d7ecd156c0_b.jpg

21. Cool of the curly cue to protect it and then form the hook

8231735259_509a3ce017_b.jpg

Now you can finish it to your desire, I used a wire wheel on an angle grinder to make it shiny.

8232880844_1654c09217_b.jpg

Here is the video:

If you have questions or constructive critique feel free to express it in a comment or personal message.

Now have fun making one yourself! :)

Yours
- Daniel

Dear Daniel,