I Forge Iron

Should I repair the edges of this anvil?

I picked up this PW #150 for $300 a year or so ago and the lack of a nice edge is nagging me (making tongs mostly). I know some suggest to use a hardy tool that is a block to get that edge but not knowing anyone who knows about blacksmithing led me to post here. I am a decent hobby welder (TIG, stick, wire) so welding up the edges is within my abilities but I wanted to get input before committing.

post-28025-0-13236200-1350453656_thumb.j

post-28025-0-75975200-1350453684_thumb.j

post-28025-0-47257300-1350453707_thumb.j

post-28025-0-90920700-1350453732_thumb.j

Those edges are not that bad and if the repair is not done properly the anvil can be in worse shape, I would suggest the hardie tool method to get a better edge or you could trade/sell it towards an anvil with perfect edges or a new one.
Depending on your location you could easily get what you paid or more for that anvil in its current condition! There are plenty of smiths that are working with anvils with edges chipped way worse.

What he said! The cure is usually worse than the problem, both practically and economically.

Better to take a flap wheel on a grinder and soften all those chips if the sight bothers you, and you are worried about further damage. In fact, that is the **first** thing many pros do to a brand spanking new anvil, radius almost all the sharp edges to prevent chipping and marking the work. Years ago, one of the demonstrators did that to an anvil at a national ABANA conference without asking the vendors permission, and caused a stir.

Make or buy a block hardy hole tool with sharp edges, or better yet, with all four sides having a different radius: sharp 90 degree, 1/16", 1/8", 1/4".

I wish my anvil had edges that nice!