I Forge Iron

Hello everyone!!

Matt Smith

Hello, Ive been posting for a while and I have been meaning to introduce myself for a while but just havent had the chance. I am 26 I have been smithin for about 6 months so far, I have a lot of diffrent hobbies , leather craft, airbrushing, auto paint and body repair, carpentery, and others. I got into smithing because I have been an advid knife collector since I was about 10 and I have always been facinated with the procces of making and forging tools, blades, etc. My goal is to become adapt at smithing to where I can eventually sell my work. I am currently in school to recive my MDiv ( master of divinity degree). Which basically means I am in trainning to be a fulltime minister as well. I am currently a youth pastor in the church of the Nazerene, Most significant thing that occured in my life recently was I was married to my wife in this past May. I hope to get to know alot of you as I seek to grow in this craft, I have seen alot of your guy's work and there are some very talented people on this forum.
-Matt

Howdy from East TEXAS!! and welcome to IFI! First off Congrats on your marriage! I did that 38+yrs ago and have never regretted it...of course when you marry up like I did....Enjoy the site but make sure the little Lady knows where you are so she can send a rescue party in if need be. Post pictures of your work, we do like pictures. Again, welcome

Matt, I am a member of the Indiana Blacksmithing Association. We have a number of satalitte groups across the state. I am in the Southern Indiana Mereorite Mashers and our group meets in Paoli, Salem and Floyds Knobs in rotation. Our meeting this month is in Cannelton Indiana just up river from Tell city tomorrow during their heritage festival. We are going to forge a split cross from 3" square steel right in the street as a demo. If you are free, Cannelton is not too far I think.