I Forge Iron

Looking for an Apprenticeship and Advice

Hi,

I'm currently in my first year of 6th Form, when I finish my A-Levels, I'll be looking for an apprenticeship- hopefully in blacksmithing. I've been doing blacksmithing as a hobby for a few months with a particular interest in bladesmithing, I've made a few knives and have some quite nice ones in the works. I love what I do, and if I can 'forge' a career out of that, then it would be fantastic!

I've considered my options for how I could get into a career, there is the option of becoming self-employed, but to invest in a shop at the age of 18 with only a couple of years experience and expect to earn a living is quite frankly ridiculous. So the other real option is an apprenticeship, this would offer me formal training and an income, and with a couple of years experience, hopefully I'll be of some use to someone!

The question is, where do you look? An apprenticeship in blacksmithing is not something I've ever seen in the papers, and certainly not one in bladesmithing. When I am ready to take on an apprenticeship, where should I look? There is the option of asking local blacksmiths, but it's not usual to walk into an establishment asking if they are looking to take on new staff when they are not advertising.

Now the questions, because I haven't asked enough already! What can I expect from an apprenticeship and where will it get me? I realise this is an incredibly broad question, considering blacksmiths range from sculptors, bladesmiths and toolmakers, but I assume there must be some things in common. I'm expecting lots of striking work to learn how the smith works, but really, I don't know much about the structure, timeframe or anything. If there are some resources I can read into about blacksmithing apprenticeships I would most appreciate it, as I hate asking so many questions all at once.