I Forge Iron

khopesh inspired knife

Perrin Aybarra

Well google images hits 24,300 on Khopesh... I reckon a few of them have been forged! Not really hard to make such a shape BUT you would need all the basics of forging and heat treating if you want a useful weapon result. If you plan to start right in on one as soon as you get your anvil you will soon become frustrated and give up. So my advice is the same as most that you'll get on here... first learn basic blacksmithing and then heat treating and THEN you can realistically plan to make a Khopesh.

u would have to have a pretty big forge to ht a blade that big.I started makin a sword when i stared bcus i had the "i want to make a cool medieval sword"attitude it never got finished and never will.I am still a beginner but my advice is to forge some small knives drop points,neck knives etcetera get the basics down bfore u waste a big piece of steel.with every inch u add onto a knife u also add a lot of work just my two cents take it or leave it. Rhett

When you hammer the bevel onto the blade the steel has to go somewhere, it does not go away like grinding it. As the steel spreads out it forces the spine to curve away. A good way to experiment is to get some modeling clay, make a bar, and then hammer it the way you think it has to go. You will soon see what you need to do to get the desired results.

Good Luck, and post pics.

Another way of looking at this project is simplythis" a knife,tool or any other item we forge is a forging,,theskills needed apopoly to all of the items..when you master the basics they apply to almos teverything,,including the projucet you mention, When you learn how metal moves when differen tools are used each new item can be taken step by step...with out basics it is a struggle and many folks fai or give up.
Kepe an eye on keeping yoiu informed area for upcoming knife chat. We will deal with all kind os things you need....maybe some you do not know you need yet... :)