I Forge Iron

Ok I got this piece of RR track for free but it's a bit different than the last piece I had.
LAME BACK STORY
First anvil was RR track horizontal with a bit welded on for a "hardie". It did pretty well until I got a 100 lb vulcan. Not top-o-line, but priced right. Now I have moved away from my anvil and am trying to make another to get me by until I can go get it.
ACTUAL PERTINANT INFO
The cross section of the track I have is smaller than normal. 1.5in by 1in or so (Will post pics tomorrow if I get time) and it wasn't very hard to cut through (though I didn't cut the last piece I had). Could this possibly be some kind of trolly track not RR track? Also, I'm not very good at determining make-up of steel from sparks but this had mondo yellow/gold sparks (set my pants on fire) with lots of carbon sparklers. Face dents easily to a hammer blow but seems to work harden if not struck with a corner. Anyone seen, heard of this stuff and is it worth welding into an anvil?

any insight would be helpful

ok got pictures...top is actually 1X2" but still small.

post-26628-0-44010000-1345645418_thumb.j

This is kind of what I'm going for...I know it's crooked now, I'll fix that before welding.

post-26628-0-46915700-1345645478_thumb.j

didn't adjust sizes, will do that later if needed. I think you can see in the thumbnail. Also I got an error saying my post was too short so I'm adding a bit to the length of it.

One_rod over on britishblades made a mini anvil from rail track

http://www.britishblades.com/forums/showthread.php?10065-Making-a-small-anvil.-(Lots-of-pictures)&highlight=One+rod+anvil

He hardened it in oil if I remember correctly. I copied the idea but hardened it in cold water, this has made a really tough little anvil and it is very nice to use. It doesn't dent easily and has taken some real abuse.

I think your RR track in the states is a different composition to ours though, so maybe you should harden it in oil first then go to water if it's no good.