I Forge Iron

Pein profile

rockstar.esq

On Saturday I was forging hammer heads into tomahawks using my cross pein to spread out the blade area. I'm fairly new to blacksmithing and I felt like my progress was slow. After two hours of forging, I still don't have the head area spread enough. My cross pein comes to about a 1/8" radius. It's a fairly typical 3lb cross pein hammer like you'd find at a hardware store.

I've noticed that several cross peins available at Centuar Forge have much wider pein's. The hofi style pein seems to be nearly flat for 1/4" with a small radius on each side.

I know that everybody has their own take on things but I'm curious if the flatter pein has an advantage?

Thanks,

Metal moves under the force you provide, in this case with a hand hammer. And it really comes down to how much force you can apply and that could be measured in psi or pounds per square inch. Think about lady in a high heal with a little tiny heal foot print stepping on the top of your barefoot. That would hurt. Now if the same lady wore a foot with a bottom surface larger than the top of your foot it would directly change the psi applied to youir foot.
Hammer faces are all about psi applied. A portion of the hammer that makes contact with the metal that is really small will apply more psi than one with a larger contact surface. A contact surface of hammer face that has a one eighth inch radius will apply more psi than one with a larger contact surface if each of them weigh the same and is traveling the same speed and the surface the piece being struck is the same on each instance.