I Forge Iron

Ok, so I've been hunting for an anvil in Las Vegas for almost two months with no luck... So I was hoping someone can give me a tip on where to look and where to go (in Las Vegas) to try finding an anvil. OR if any body who lives in Vegas either is selling their anvil to get a new one, has an old anvil, or even a make shift anvil that they are willing to part with. I'm trying to get into iron work and blade making. so if anyone has any info on an anvil (a real one or a makeshift, but still functional, anvil) in vegas please post on this or message me. Thank you for the people who took the time to read this and to comment.

Around here the scrap yards are closed to the public, except the scales.

If the scrap yards sell you can look for a block of steel that is about 100# with a flat surface. Railroad couples that are broken, and not have been used.

Smaller items can also be used if they are fastened very securely. A lot of work has been done on 30# anvils and smaller. A strong fastening of the anvil to the stand or stump, and a strong fastening of the stump or stand to the earth is required for this. Logs buried upright and welded steel tripods pinned to the earth are very effective.

An anvil does not need a horn, it can be a simple block and be effective.

Welcome aboard and good luck!

Phil

A "secret" to finding anvils on Craigslist. Set up a search with your smart phone if you have one so it alerts you when an anvil is posted. Or, check 5-10 tines a day. My 300# fisher was listed at 10:00 at night and was removed by 8:00am the next day. I paid $360.... I've seen several others pop up and sell in minutes/hours since then. Before I started checking 5-10 times a day I thought there weren't any anvils for sale in my area. I could buy 2 a month if I needed one using this method.