I Forge Iron

Help with convave circle

dan

Make a shallow depression in the end grain of a piece of wood. Place the wood over the depression and hit it with a ball pein hammer. Some armour's use large steel spheres welded to the face of a dedicated hammer for this work. The spheres may be of any size but the ones I have seen are about 2" in diameter.

dishing into the end of a stump of some sort works well, but I wouldn't use a ball peen unless you are looking for a textured surface, find a cheap 2 or 3 pound hammer (i use a driller's hammer) and grind one surface to a smooth radius (like half a sphere) use that to dish with (the process is called dishing) the larger radius on the hammer makes the surfaces stay much smoother.

the other way to do this is a process called raising, I'm not an expert on that check on anvilfire  for a description on that.

Dan- I either use a dishing stump as frostfly mentioned but I also raise it using a forming stake that is a 5" solid steel ball ( various sizes at that) that I welded onto a 1 1/4" square stock, clamp in the vise, heat your material and shape away! Either is easy to make- out of the woods or from the scrap yard.

awsome responses and suggestions.

I did carve yesterday a hardwood block with a diameter of 8" with a 7/8 of an " deep as a cavity for my concave shape. I will try to use a shere shape that I will weld to the end of an old hammer to get my desired shape

I will then make a male mold of the exact same shape out of soft wood that will be 8" in diameter and 7/8 " high .The idea here is to have my new shape facing down on the soft wood to the form my sunflower texture.

So I guess I will use both idea of a shere for the curve and the Ball pen hammer for the texture on the other side.

I will keep you posted on the results. I cannot thank you enough for your brain storming.

Dan