I Forge Iron

Question about cutting torch...

Hey guys, i'm kinda new to all this stuff and I don't really know anything about cutting torches. I recently found out that they can weld also, and are a whole lot cheaper than a decent welder. I was wondering if the welding cappabilaties are good, 'cause sometimes on high tech multipurpose stuff, one of the options doesn't work to well. I am looking at one that can weld
1/4" and cut 1/2" with the supplied tips, but the catalog says that it will weld up to 3" and cut 6" with different tips. Is this stuff acurate? I would appreciate anything anyone could tell me, thank you. Andrew.

Hi, yes with the right tips you could certainly do both of those, and a rosebud tip is also an excelent source of localized heat for blacksmithing.
However, I'm pretty sure you would need to manifold several tanks together to do either one on material that thick.

With oxy-fuel, you can weld,braze,cut,solder,apply localized heat. The learning curve is not to bad, Probably easier than learning to run a stick welder well. But harder than running a mig. If you can tig weld already then it won't take you ten minuits to get it.
As far as cost,the torch ,hoses and regulators are only part of the cost. You must also either lease, rent, or buy a set of tanks. Also you must pay to keep them filled in most cases. Which could get quite expensive if this is the only welding setup you have and you use it a lot.
Personally I have four torches and three sets of tanks and wouldn't be without them. But I also wouldn't be without a good stick welder also.
Around here you can pick up a decent used 250 Amp AC/AD welder for under a hundred and fifty bucks.