I Forge Iron

Introduction, and first knife

HennieL

Hi Everyone,

Well, looks like I'm doing it all backwards - first I post two technical posts regarding heat treatment (here and here), and THEN I finally introduce myself...

I hail from Bloemfontein, South Africa, and have only very recently started making my first knife. I need a good skinner for our next hunting season, and would like one that will stay sharp longer than the average "shop-bought" commercial knife - hence my decision to make my own. I have zero experience or knowledge with forging, so decided to stick to grinding for this knife (I would love to learn how to forge, but that will have to wait another year or two, until I've built myself a decent forge). I did need to heat treat the blade, though, so invested in a digitally controlled electric knife kiln.

The knife was made using only a Tormek wet grinder, and hand tools such as an iron saw, a few files, a pedestal drill (with buffer wheel), and lots of sand paper... I made the handle from Lebombo Ironwood, retrieved from an old railway sleeper that was about 120 years old. The steel is from German origin, and is sold in South Africa as Panzer 36 - it is similar to Bohler N690, and I treated it to a Rockwell C hardness of around 59-60, although I have not confirmed this yet.

Anyway, enough of that - here are some photos. Please keep in mind that the knife still needs to be sharpened, and it must also still receive a final sanding and buffing, so you will still see some dirt and light scratches on the photos:

Here is the knife, together with a wooden model that I made whilst designing it:

post-23077-0-69457100-1324240734_thumb.j

post-23077-0-40558600-1324240732_thumb.j

This will give you an idea of wood to metal fit - I'm quite pleased with how this turned out :)

post-23077-0-10506700-1324240730_thumb.j

Hennie

• 4 weeks later...