I Forge Iron

Removing oxygen from blade being hardened

Hi All,

This is my first post on this Forum. :D

I'm from south Africa, and am an absolute beginner as far as heat treating & forging goes - given that my electric kiln is only to be delivered tomorrow :o

Having read up on the subject of heat treating for some time now, I understand the process and metallurgy involved, to some extent, but will only be gaining first-hand experience over the next few weeks...

My current concern, is that my first heat treatment project will be to harden a knife that I have just completed. Now, according to many sources on the 'Net, any steel will be degraded if heated in the presence of oxygen, and I have read that one should wrap the knife in newspaper, and then in foil, before heat treating. The foil is supposed to prevent the stainless steel from discoloring, and the wrapped newspaper is supposed to combust, and in the process remove all the O2 from around the knife within the confines of the foil.

Is this true?

Is it worth doing, if true.

Thanks

Hennie

Note that this is stainless steel foil; not aluminum foil.

If you have left a proper amount of thickness to be removed after heat treat you will grind off any decarb layer---and it will be less likely to warp or crack in heat treatment. If you have ground it down to finished size then the paper and foil will help.

Thanks for the info so far :D

If you have left a proper amount of thickness to be removed after heat treat you will grind off any decarb layer---and it will be less likely to warp or crack in heat treatment. If you have ground it down to finished size then the paper and foil will help

The blade is 3mm thick, with the cutting edge ground down to approximately 0.5mm (0.2") thickness. I've been toying with the idea to cut this back a bit to around 0.75mm (0.3") - will this be enough?