I Forge Iron

What to make with O-1 steel

While at the local steel supplier, the manager gave me a 3/8 x 1 x 36 piece of O-1. What would be the best use of this size and type of steel? I'm thinking that it would be hard to reforge to round or square without the risk of cold shunts, even with a power hammer. I have no experience with O-1 but knew that I wasn't going to say 'No' when it was offered LOL Thx, Keith

I use O-1 at work,and do some torch hardening on some parts. It will get brittle hard if taken to a red heat. To just toughen it, I will do a dulllllll red, and quench, or air cool if the part is small.

O-1 makes some good knives, but I wouldn't think to use it for any tools to be hammered on.

Annealing, and tempering take a controllable oven to do right.

O-1 isn'tthat expensive, but you may be able to trade it for something else better suited for what you want to make.

O-1 is an oil hardening steel suggested for use in dies, punches etc, I googled it but did not cut and paste that on here as that may need approval from the site I read. I have used alot of it for knife blades. I grind not forge to shape but have hot forged some in the past. A wee harder than mild under a hammer. I go right by the book on hardening and tempering for my blades. They hold a wonderful edge. Most knife supply houses carry it as well as places that provide for machine shops etc.

Annealing, and tempering take a controllable oven to do right.

I disagree, While one needs to take care as O-1 can air harden, annealing isnt to hard in a box of vermiculite, and tempering is simple, how do you figure the need high tech controls for tempering?

I disagree, While one needs to take care as O-1 can air harden, annealing isnt to hard in a box of vermiculite, and tempering is simple, how do you figure the need high tech controls for tempering?