I Forge Iron

Saw blades

billp

If they are a blade with carbide welded to the tips of the teeth the body is medium carbon at best, but is good metal for many uses all the same. If the blade is made from a single piece of metal you are likely holding good knife making metal.

Either way make test samples because it is mystery metal and you need to know how to heat treat it before you can use it.

Phil

Some have carbide tips and others do not the older blades are the solid ones and a few have a diamond in the center for the shaft hole if that means anything.
What kind of test do I need to use to see?
Sorry for all the questions but I'm new to making knifes and trying to learn.
billp

The spark test is probably the one you want to use to check out your saw blades. First get a piece of mild steeel and a piece of tool steel, run them across a grinding wheel paying particular attention to the spark formation of each type of steel. Then do the same with a scrap piece of one of your saw blades. Which ever saw blade makes sparks like the tool steel is the best for making knives.

The diamond has to do with the arbor size that the blade ran on. It doesn't mean anything about materials used, unless it is an obvious knockout, which will mean the metal is softer.

The blades that are obviously made from one material are you best bet. Compare a spark test near the center with a test near the tips, just to make sure.

My Dad has a rather old dado set that I machined out to fit his table saw...incredibly hard material. The lab aid and I spent weeks figuring out how to do the job without breaking the tool and ended up using a solid carbide center drill for setting up a part on a lathe. (A prof borrowed the tool special for the job from a local business) That blade set has been resharpened at least once since I did this.

Phil