I Forge Iron

Forging 4" billet

I would think a 500 lb ram would move metal that thick faster than that but I have no experience in that size range. The biggest I ever tackled was 3" round 36" long in my 135lb say-mak hammer. It was hard work. I have messed with some small hunks of 4" but it was really too thick for my machine to forge effectively.

4x4 is alot of seel to move. Those dies are 5 or 6 inches wide. that means 20 to 30 square inches of contact. Also pretty close to flat.
The hammer is doing a pretty good job, look at the end of the bar it is bulging a sure sign it's being forged clear thru the entire cross section.
I think there may be something to be gained by opening the dies a little farther , and maybe increasing the stroke, But on that size hammer
that is a fair amount of work. Maybe not worth it if you only need to do 1 piece. Michael thanks for sharing this I have a 125# they are great hammers.

This is one of two identical pieces that are part of "Aileron" public art sculpture for Nashville. They also will have a 3"x6" mortis on the other end, I'll post some progress in my Aileron thread when I get a bit further.

Your right Tim, it should hit harder! I have struggled with the hammer since I set it up. When I purchased it ($2000) it came with the 10hp motor which is under powered by 1/3! I had to jackshaft just to get it to work this well. Hopefully shortly I will have the funds to replace the 10hp with a 20hp/VFD. Oh yea, the stroke is also half of what it is capable of but I have the die to material set up pretty xxxx close. Anyways this is what I have for now and I'm not complaining B)

Kevin, both are good but I would choose either of my air hammers, if they were set up!

I see nothing wrong with what that hammer can do....I have yet to own a hammer that is big enough, hits fast enough or is cheap enough to repair.....and when I find one I'll hit work too hard, to fast and break something...probably me.