I Forge Iron

A couple of "no welding required" hatchets

Hey Sam,

Those are really cute! Great idea!!! :)

Pam

Thanks Pam, I am not too good at forge welding(don't get enough practice), and for others who aren't these are great little projects! the chop pretty good to, for a larger axe size or splitting size, just use thicker flat bar. The bar used for these was 2 inch wide by 3/16ths thick. VERY VERY suited to being made from leaf springs. I made each one in about 45 minutes each, all there is to do is point one end of a foot or more of material, bend and counter bend the eye hole halfway, then hammer the whole eye completely over a peice of 1 3/4 inch round bar, then drill and rivet, sharpen and polish(and if you want, engrave some cool stuff into the sides like I did:D, sorry for the bad pictures, my camera doesn't like closeups).

That's a cool idea. I like the rivets.

One suggestion? Take your straight or cross pien and put a fish-tail fuller across the edge, then flatten up and bevel. This will give you that axe blade flair. Set it over the edge of your anvil and drive the top point down for more of a tomahawk flair.

Kinda like this:
hawk_fuller.jpg

Keep hammerin',

Don

• 2 weeks later...

Hehe cool. I find the rivets let you get a better bond with the head and handle, by waiting to rivet the one closer to the handle, until you haver the handle wedge into the head, then clamp and then rivet the last one, it clamps the head to the shaft, making a REALLY tight strong bond.

• 2 years later...

heres a couple hand hoes ax mixed items iv been selling in wv for the people here who dig wild ramps,the ax is very effective in clearing fourwheeler paths also and i have become fond of carrying my own when out and about.if anyone sees an improvement im open to suggestions thanks.

13575.attach