I Forge Iron

How to know when your ready for Swordsmithing

Playinwitmetal

I know there isn't an exact science to tell a person when they are ready to take on the task of swordsmithing but I still want to ask. I've been bladesmithing for a year now and have made a couple dozen knives or so or various sizes and styles and I've learned or at least attempted different methods of heat treating and tempering and have more or less been successful (only destroyed 4 knives so far lol). I've made a couple of large items (more like medium sized things like machetes) but no actual swords.I'm also an apprentice smith for the ABS and rely on the plethora of collective knowledge accumulated by their master bladesmiths. Anywho; I've made swords out of mild steel just so I could get the basics down, but I haven't made one of a quality steel yet. I don't like to fail and I have limited amounts of Steel and I hate to waste material. So in the spirit of Conservation I wanted to ask you swordsmiths about how to judge when I'm ready for swordsmithng. Should I just dive in or perhaps are there ways to test or build myself up to the task?