I Forge Iron

Opinion about an anvil Please

Hey guys, I need an opinion about this anvil:
http://www.centaurforge.com/NC-112-lbs-Calvary-Anvil-Eligible-for-Free-Shipping-See-Home-Page-for-full-details/productinfo/18NC112/

I know it's more of a shoer's anvil, but would it suffice for a starter blacksmith?

Let me know your opinions please, come one and come all.

Form follows function. The anvil you choose depends on your needs, finances, availability of anvils in your area, and what you plan on using the anvil for. The anvil shown seems fine but you might wish to try some anvils, or any other equipment, before you purchase so that you can make an informed decision, and match your purchase to your needs.

I'm just starting out too, and had the opportunity to purchase a few farriers anvils and have turned them down thus far. If I was gonna spend that much I think I would add a bit more and get the 120# Legend anvil from anvil brand. http://www.anvilbrand.com/p-716-anvil-brand-legend-120-lb-anvil.aspx It's not much more expensive and it has a much better setup and a thicker waist than the farriers anvils. It says they're out of stock at the moment but I was told if I called them around 8/2/11 that they should have some ready.

Thats IF I was dead set on purchasing a NEW anvil.
Before I did that I believe I would go to SearchTempest.com and put in my zip code and do a search for both anvil and blacksmith. Might be surprised what you find within an hour or 2's drive.

In the mean time find something heavy and steel and put some hot metal on it and whack it with a hammer

That's quite a bit to spend on something that may not suit your requirements!
I think that you should possibly add your location to your profile and you might be surprised as to what is availible & where.
Also it helps if you can" try out" on another smiths anvil/s as it will give you a "feel" for them.
My $0.02 worth.
Ian
P.S. Welcome to IFI