I Forge Iron

pricing for an amateur

I have a specific question further down, but first I wanted to set the table a bit. I'm an amateur blacksmith, and a fairly unskilled, if enthusiastic, one at that. I'm not overly interested in the money, although it never hurts; my primary motivation in pricing is to avoid offending the fulltime blacksmiths in the area. I can't use standard fulltime blacksmiths formulas as I don't have shop time that costs me anything too significant and it takes me far longer than a fulltime blacksmith would need. Normally I try to figure out what something comparable made by them would be worth and then discount for the lower quality. In this case, however, I can't find any comparables to go off of.

So, long story short, if somebody would be willing to suggest some ballpark price ranges that won't be too low as to seem like I'm undercutting but at the same time won't be too high as to seem presumptuous, I'd really appreciate it. In all cases, the closer you get to them, the worse they look. :-)

DNA structure, 2 feet high, all mortise and tenon joints (except to the base), no welds:
post-13268-0-85722400-1311374738_thumb.jpost-13268-0-52942800-1311374803_thumb.j

Tree, 4 feet high, all sloppy stick welds:
post-13268-0-59784200-1311374845_thumb.j

Chair, 4 feet high, all mortise and tenon joints, no welds, no torches:
post-13268-0-31089300-1311374899_thumb.jpost-13268-0-81369100-1311374911_thumb.jpost-13268-0-02367400-1311374931_thumb.jpost-13268-0-77414900-1311374955_thumb.j

Three coats of industrial (expensive) primer, three coats of black paint.

Those all look really great. I have no idea what you should charge except what you feel they are worth. What price would you be offended at if offered? What price would make you feel that you didn't have to explain all the hard work you put into the pieces. It also depends on where you sell them. Gallery? Fair? Craft fair? Flea market?