I Forge Iron

Blacksmith shop

I found an old blacksmith shop about 20 minutes from my house. Its in a center that has a resturaunt and a couple other shops including a working handmade saddle shop. I looked throught the window and seen the tools. They were covered in dust. I am going to talk to the resturaunt owner and see if they have a blacksmith that works there. If not maybe I can work out a deal with them on the use of the shop.

Well I went and talked to someone and was told they do not have a Blacksmith. The woman I talked to told me she was going to have someone call me tomorrow. They are looking for a smith. To bad im not a smith yet. I told her I'm just starting out, and that maybe I could come and work in the shop when I get a little more experience. By the way the resturaunt had some of the best ribs I have ever ate. This is a picture of the front of the building.

post-21702-0-08935100-1310259622_thumb.j

Maybe your chance to work what little expertise you have into a lot of expertise. Almost all of us started off making a few fire pokers, key rings, candle holder and such, most folks are in plain awe of seeing these made in front of them even by a mediocre smith so go ahead give the owner your best pitch, heck even offer to work for free ribs for two months at first. :blink:

Man-o-man but that sounds like an envious deal. like Bentiron said, all of us started making small things. it is amazing that people will watch you make a simple drive hook and suddenly they just have to buy it. not from the bunch on the counter, but the one you just made. I would give quite a lot to be able to work in a shop that is already there and supplied.

Do not be shy about your lack of experience. Get in there anyway you can light a fire and start beating some iron and before you know it you will have some more experience. I am sure there are lots of folks here willing to share some simple projects to help you out.