I Forge Iron

pressure pipe welding

Hello,Calling all and any experienced pipie welders.I am a boilermaker by trade and have welded plenty of boiler tubes.However we always tig weld the root pass.I find myself in the awkward position of having to adapt to welding a root pass with 6010.Any tips,suggestions would be appreciated.I have a good opportunity here and I don't want to blow it.I have been practicing on 6" sch40.I learned a lot from my first coupon, such as the importance of the fit-up especialy the amount of land. Ihave been leaving a 1/16 gap but a friend told me to slam the joint together and bury the rod.Any sugestions would be greatly apreciated.I really need this job.Thanks

18 years certified pipe welder local 198 Baton Rouge La. I always use a 1/8" land and a 1/8" gap when setting up for a welding test. control your heat if you can practice before the test it will help to just run beads overhead. Good luck!

You "Key Hole" the root pass over a consistent gap. Hammer wire (rod) to dimension and support the pipe gap equally around the circumference. This action sufficently burns through the bevel and consumes the interior edge of the pipe. The next trick when you stick weld HP is picking the root pass clean so that the weld will pass inspection. This exercise makes the case for TIG root welds but we wind up working with what you have on the work site.