I Forge Iron

Rivet size

I am new to blacksmithing, but I try to learn everything that I can. I looked all over to try to find a formula to determine the rivet head size and height of a given diameter of parent stock, but I couldn't find anything but tables showing some of the dimensions. Using that data I came up with something I would like to share with everyone else:
Using Y = Diameter of parent stock X = Diameter of the rivet head and H = Height of rivet head
7Y = 4X and X - Y = H
Using this I can determine the dimensions of my rivet with ease. Forgive me if I overlooked this topic elsewhere. Any input/opinions would be greatly appreciated because like I said I'm new to this and value other peoples experience and knowledge. Thank you in advance.

Ahh there are all sorts of rivet heads: flat, domed, conical...I don't see where your equation deals with that.

Also when I make rivets will size the head for the task, so for one job the head may be quite large and for another quite small---standardization seems more suited for factories than for craftsfolk who are doing custom work!

Good point on the types, I was going to mainly deal with the dome to begin with. As far as the other, this more or less gives someone (like me) that place to start from to build their skill level. I would hate to make a set of tongs just to find out that my rivet wouldn't hold up then find out after many tries that I was making it way to small for it's purpose. Thank you for your input.

The 1.5 shank diameter is a general rule for cold riveting. For hot riveting, you can have some more length. On my tongs, I hot rivet leaving 2.5 for a head, because I want a broad rivet head to lessen the slop (you'll have some slop).