I Forge Iron

Material sizing for chair

dbrandow

I'm in the process of designing a chair I'd like to build, but I'm having difficulty settling on the material size to use for the supports. I'm pretty new to blacksmithing, couple of years, and I've never made anything that was intended to bear the weight of anything other than plants. I've seen one set of plans that uses 1/2" by 1&1/2" square for a bench, although presumably that would be overkill for a chair based on the number of people sitting on it. Would anybody with some experience let me know what works best?

I feel like it's not so much about the size of the material , it's more about the distribution of weight. Think of toothpick bridges, they hold a lot of weight with just toothpicks and wood glue. I bet you could go as small as 1/4 inch, but that might get tricky. If it was me I think I'd use at least 1/2 inch or 3/4.

There is no simple way to answer your question. Tubing can be quite thin if it is of reasonable diameter and has strong enough joins. Lots of manufactured chairs use lightweight tubing for strength. Rod or square bar is generally stronger than flat bar... but depending on the exact application this may be reversed in some designs. Wider flat bar is also stronger for a given thickness. Thicker flat bar is stronger for a given width. These are the absolute basics. Triangular assemblies resist racking and generally have great strength for the amount of material used to make them. The LONG list of variables is quite impossible to cover in anything less than book length. Trial and error (more positively expressed as EXPERIENCE) is the truest method for design development. You cannot expect to make a one off design that is optimal or even anywhere NEAR that unless you have both broad and deep experience at similar designs. The normal process is to make one the best that you can imagine it and then test and improve and retest and improve again until you have a really refined design.