I Forge Iron

What is a good price?

nwaite

I am starting to buy more tools for smithing. I only have 2 hammers atm so im looking for more. im very new to this an don't really know how to make my own. What i need to know is how much should i be paying for a good hammer? I found a few at a antique shop today... a large arrow shaped chisel and large rectangle one both around 2 lb's. they were $12 each. i just don't know how much i should be spending on this stuff. don't have much cash so i would like to get all i can for what i got. any one know a good site i can compare prices or something like that. any info would help. thank you.

I prefer junk shops and fleamarkets and garage sales to antique stores.

Generally I don't spend more than $5 per hammer head and *try* to buy them minus the handles as you generally have to reset them anyway and you can do it *right*. (I also buy handles at fleamarkets, garage sales or when the local hardware store has a sale)

One time a fellow was trying to up the price on a set hammer I wanted telling me that the *new* handle was worth more than what I thought was fair to pay---well it was handled so badly that I pulled the new handle out of the head and handed it to him and said now how much? I would have had to toss the "new" handle he had botched into the head; so I saw no reason to pay for it.

Have you asked your neighbors, folks at church, co-workers, etc what's lurking around their basements, garages, sheds, barns, etc?

I personally would not spend $12 on a used 2lbs hammer unless I really wanted it bad. I usually pick up used hammers for $1-$3 each at the flea market. Sledges are usually 5-7$. I find the antique stores around charge alot more for everything since they seem to know what they actually have. The one I like to go to has a 30lbs post vice selling for $165 firm, they won't budge on the price even though they've had it for 2 years.