I Forge Iron

Were to buy Chisel steel

A few questions to help us better help you;

You said "lathe chisels" are we talking about a metal lathe or a wood lathe?

What type of work do you plan to use these chisels for?
What material are you planning to cut?
How long would you like the edge to last?
What type of gear do you own or plan to get for sharpening the chisels once you make them.

The answers to these questions will help us understand what you are really planning to do and help us narrow everyone`s focus in regard to answers.

Right now your rather broad question is like asking;"I`m going hunting,what do you suggest I bring?"

If you're talking about a wood lathe, while I'm no expert on the subject, I know that factory made wood lathe chisels nowadays are commonly made of HSS for edge holding and heat resistance. 1045 is pretty poor in both departments. Like Bob said, give us a few more details.

If you want to make cold chisels use a true tool steel. Like w1 O1 of even S5. S5 being the best In my opinion. You can use scrap steel like coils springs. But that is a crap shoot getting the temper right can be tricky. Now many cold chisels are 1050, 1045 I have read this is what craftsman chisels are made from. This steel never really gets hard enough to truly cut steel. A cold chisel properly hardened made from a good steel will actually carve steel try doing that with one made from 1045.

A hot chisel on the other hand does not need to be as hard to do its job it can be made from steels with less carbon. 1045 and 4130 will work but something with a little more carbon is better such as 1060. H13 would probably be the best though as it is a hot work steel and can be very hard to forge.

As for wood chisels I would say W1 as my first choice. Many old files are W1 steel.

Many people will have differing opinions from me but this is what has worked for me in the past.