I Forge Iron

Forgers Elbow

So,

Two months ago, I needed a bunch of hooks for hanging some stuff up, Spades, rakes... that sort of thing. So I fired up my forge, cut a few 3/8" steel rods into lengths to make a dozen hooks and went after it. Two months later, I'm still in a lot of pain if I move my hammer arm the wrong way. Additionally, I'm looking at another month before I'll be able to use my arm in a hobby that I’ve grown to love and am chomping at the bit to get back into.

Now, I'm the type of person that enjoys figuring things out. It's what I do for a living. So naturally, I started analyzing everything surrounding my injury, so I could figure out how it happened, and in the future prevent it from happening again. It didn’t take long.

My conclusion is that several bad choices, on my part, led me to my current condition. One, I was in a hurry and decided to use a heavier hammer than I’m used to, so that I could work the metal faster. Two, when my arm started to get tired, instead of switching to a lighter hammer or taking a break, I pushed through. Three, while pushing through, my arm grew even more tired, and while concentrating on hitting the metal where I needed to, I forgot to keep my swings in form, resulting in a severally sprained/pulled muscle.

From what I understand, the proper form for swinging a hammer is as follows:
Elbow near your side, Shoulders back, with most of the swinging movement in the elbow, not the shoulder or wrist. This keeps your hammer, elbow and shoulder in a plane that runs perpendicular from a plane formed by your two shoulders. The muscles being used in this form primarily include your triceps for swinging the hammer to its target, and biceps for lifting the hammer up from where your rebound stops to the top of the arc of your swing.