I Forge Iron

Regulators?!

ebnewt

I'm looking for a regulator and a gauge for my first forge. Not 100% sure what to get but found this guy and am thinking of ordering it.

My linkhttp://www.toolfetch.com/Category/Welding/Gas_Cutting_Welding/Regulators_Flowmeters/328-EP-70G.htm

And if it doesn't come with the gauge, is there such a thing as a gauge that reads from 0-20 or around that. Most of the ones I see are 0-100 psi.

Larry Zoeller sells individual parts and a complete hook up kit with everything you need also.

Sounds like I'm just a step or so ahead of you. I just finished ordering all my stuff for my forge a couple weeks ago. I'm still waiting for a couple things to get here.

-LouieIV

• 3 weeks later...

I don't know if it would be easier for you to get or not, but I have been using an acetylene regulator on my forge for nearly 2 years now without problems.

Both propane and acetylene are corrosive liquids with the vapors being the product used. Both are used at low pressures to avoid risk of explosions. I simply had an extra acetylene regulator when I built my forge so have used it since then.

I am curious if anyone has any reason not to use an acetylene regulator with propane or any other comments on this substitution.

I don't know if it would be easier for you to get or not, but I have been using an acetylene regulator on my forge for nearly 2 years now without problems.

Both propane and acetylene are corrosive liquids with the vapors being the product used. Both are used at low pressures to avoid risk of explosions. I simply had an extra acetylene regulator when I built my forge so have used it since then.

I am curious if anyone has any reason not to use an acetylene regulator with propane or any other comments on this substitution.

In the UK, propane should not be used with an acetelyne regulator as the diaphragms will be degraded by the propane, as they use different materials for the diaphragms.