I Forge Iron

smithing in games

First off I hope it is ok to post this here, if not I appologize. I hope some of you are gamers to some degree and can provide me with some feedback. I don't know a whole lot about smithing and am currently investigating it so I thought what would be better than to ask actual blacksmiths...here goes.

I am a hobbyist programmer and my team is planning to design a game which includes the art of smithing as it was around medieval times. We want it to be involved, not just a "click and watch" type of thing which some of you may have seen in some roleplaying games. It has to be translated in a fun way. So a direct simulation of every detail probably isn't what we want. Things will have to be sped up, steps may have to be omitted or combined with other steps in some way, etc.

What I want to know is, if you had to translate your craft into a game and make it work in a gameplay sense how would you do it? What are things you would have to stay aware of in a strategy sense, maybe temperature of the forge and item being worked on? What are the minimum tools you could break it down to?

Is it possible to make smithing anything other than a "click and watch" type of game? I personally believe it can be made into something so much better but I need help finding what that should be.

Some info on the game:
The game is sort of a FPS with strategy elements. There will be two teams competing against eachother. Teams will collect ore from mines and create weapons and armor. Other artisan skills may be included such as alchemy to make potions.

Thank you for reading. I eagerly await any feedback.

Interesting subject...my sons are avid gamers but I am not (although I do watch them on occasion).